Online Marketing Terms To Know


Online Marketing Terms to Know

So you have decided to start your own business or you joined an MLM company and you're excited to join your first web conference or webinar, you log on and... you now have no idea what anyone is talking about, all these complicated and technical sounding online marketing terms are being used and you feel lost! You may have even felt lost during that last sentence! Well fear no more, I have a huge list of terms that you will encounter throughout your marketing journey. YAY!!

To be honest, I was so lost for like the first whole year that I started learning about marketing! They kept talking about "Leads" and I didn't understand what that meant. I felt dumb and I had no idea who to ask for help and every Google search led me to websites offering to sell me leads! Since my first language is Spanish and the only person who talked about business things in my house was my mom, in Spanish, I literally had never heard the word lead used as a way to describe a prospecting customer. Once I figured out what it meant, it made a whole lot of other trainings more understandable.

So I am going to be honest here and just tell you that I didn't make this list nor have I had to encounter the usage of every single term on here. I prefer to defer to the experts and when I first started and even to this day MyLeadSystemPro was my guide to learning about online business and marketing. They literally have this Glossary of Terms in there for us to use. So...I am copy and pasting it and I hope that it helps you!

If this is an article that helps you or you believe can help others, please share it :)

Along with this awesome list of terms, MLSP also has a whole library of marketing training and tools to help you with marketing your online business, make sure you check it out here.

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AdGroup

An Ad group is an organized group of keywords within a Campaign. Keywords in the same Ad Group trigger the same ad text, or creative. It's best to group your keywords thematically so you can target ads toward each theme, market, product or service.

Adsense

Google's contextual ad program for website publishers. Publishers place text ads provided by Google on their site, and earn a portion of the click through revenue.

Adwords

Google's contextual ad program for advertisers. Advertisers receive preferred placement (as Sponsored Links) for given keywords, based on a pay-per-click revenue model.

Algorithm

The detailed sequence of actions used by search engines to rank web pages. The most famous Search Engine Algorithm is PageRank - Google's indexing method that assigns different weights to multiple variables of a website, including: keyword density, link popularity, website authority, etc.

Article

Writing and submitting optimized articles on the subject of your webiste content is an important and effective aspect of Search Engine Marketing.

Authenticity

The sense that something or someone is "real". Blogs enable people to publish content and engage in conversations that show their interests and values, and so help develop an authentic voice online.

Autoresponder

An autoresponder is a program that automatically sends an email message at a set time or in response to an action taken by a computer. For example, when a visitor to your website requests information by sending you an email or clicking on a link, your autoresponder may automatically reply wth a pre-determined email message. You can set up autoresponders to send out sales information, letters, follow-up inquires or notices.

Average CPC - Cost Per Click

The average amount actual advertisers are paying for each click-through from their ad to their website.

Aweber

Aweber Communications develops and manages online opt-in email newsletters, follow-up automation, and email deliverability services for small business customers around the world. (See Autoreponder)

Banner

A banner is simply an advertisement displayed on your web page in a traditional banner shape. A banner can display virtually anything, although in e-commerce it is primarily used as an advertising tool that acts as a link to an advertiser's website. If you publish a newsletter or ezine, you may choose to include banners that promote another company's product or service. (The standard banner size is 460 pixels wide and 60 pixels high).

Benefit

It's essential to understand the difference between "features" and "benefits". Benefits is a marketing term that shifts the focus from product feature to how this feature will benefit the customer. "What's in it for me?" is the question every visitor will ask themselves when looking at a sales message. Unless your sales text is packed with benefit-oriented text, forget about the sale.

Bid

The amount an advertiser is willing to pay for Adwords traffic per each click, for example.

Billboard Side

The billboard side of the postcard is the "draw" the attention getter. It will be seen by most recipients. Make sure

it is used wisely with a graphic and a headline that screams "read me" to your target market.

Blacklist

A blacklist is a list of known or suspected senders of spam. Blacklists are maintained by ISPs and spam-fighting organizations - and if your name gets blacklisted, it can be very difficult to have it removed. Legitimate email marketers can stay out of trouble with blacklists by following these guidelines:

* Use a confirmed opt-in system for collecting email addresses. ie: autoresponder * Include an unsubscribe link in every email you send. * Send only materials that reflect the relationship you have established with the people on your list.

Blog

A frequently updated webiste involving reverse-chronological "posts" or, a short opinion, news or gossip updates, with a collaborative interface. Websites with dated items of content in reverse chronological order, self-published by bloggers. Items - sometimes called posts - may have keyword tags associated with them, are usually available as feeds, and often allow commenting.

Blog Reader

A platform for reading blogs, similar to Google Reader.

Body Copy

The body copy is the description of your offer and benefits. Use only short sentences that are precise, persuasive, and written in conversational tone. The decision on whether or not to continue to read the postcard happens with every line a prospect reads, so make sure that every word is attention getting or provocative.

Bonus

An additional benefit in excess of the basic benefit.

Bookmarking

Saving the address of a website or item of content, either in your browser or on a social bookmarking site like del.icio.us. If you add tags, others can easily use your research too.

Break-Even Point

The point at which the costs of producing a product equal the revenue made from selling the product.

Broad Match

This is the default match option. When you include keyword phrases in your keyword list, your ads will appear when users search for any words in these phrases, in any order - and possibly along with other terms.

Broadcasting

Simultaneously emailing the same message to multiple recipients.

Browser

A tool used to view websites, and access all the content available there is on screen or by downloading. Browsers may also be used to upload or otherwise contribute content to a blog or other website. Internet Explorer, Firefox and Safari, Google Chrome are some of the most popular browsers.

Bulletin Boards

The early vehicles for online collaboration, where users connected with a central computer to post and read email-like messages. They were the electronic equivalent of public notice boards. The term is still used for forums.

Call-To-Action

The call-to-action is essential in every form of media. It is what you are telling your prospect what to do.

Campaign

Defines the daily budget, language, geographis scope, and the networks where ads are displayed.

Chat

Interaction on a website, with a number of people adding text items one after the other into the same space at (almost) the same time. A place for chat-chatroom- differs from a forum because conversations happen in "real time", rather as they do face-to-face. Example: Skype

Classified Ad

A breif listing appearing in a periodical of items for sale and/or services offered usually arranged by category. Can be online or in a newspaper and/or other print media.

Click

The action of clicking on an advertisement or other graphical or textual element, which triggers the users to visit an advertisers website.

Click-through

A click-through occurs when a user responds to and online advertisement by clicking on a link that takes them to the advertisers website. Counting click-throughs gives advertisers a better measurement of website traffic than recording hits (also called "pageviews"). Although click-throughs are an important measurement of the success of and online promotion, they do not reflect the quality of site visitors (i.e., How long did they stay? Which pages of your site did they view?)

Click-Through-Tracking

The process of tracking how many recipients clicked on a particular link in an email message. This is commonly done to measure the success of email marketing campaigns.

Co-Registration

Referring leads, subscriptions, or memberships based on opt-in or opt-out preferences.

Communities

Groups of people communicating mainly through the Internet. They may simply have shared interest to talk about...or social networks line Facebook. Online communities may use email lists or forums where content is centralized. Communities may also emerge from conversations around or between bloggers.

Competitive Analysis

Assessment of the strengths and weaknesses of a business as compared to its competitors.

Competitive Intelligence

Competitive intelligence essentially means understanding and learning what's happening in the world outside your business so you can be as competitive as possible. It means learning as much as possible-as soon as possible- about your industry, and your competitor.

Confirmation

A situations where the subscriber must authenticate the subscription request before more emails can be sent.

Confirmed opt-in

"Single confirmed opt-in" and a "Double confirmed opt-in"are ways to collect opt-in emails addresses and protect yourself from accusations of sending spam. Up until a few years ago, everyone used "Single opt-in"web forms to collect email addresses for marketing campaigns. Visitors to a web page entered their name and email address, and that was it-it was understood that they had given permission for the owner of the web page to send them email. However, if you use a single opt-in system, you can run into problems. For example, if someone enters the address of a friend or relative into your web form, that person could receive your newsletter or email promotions without ever having requested email from you-they could accuse you of sending spam. A double opt-in email list will always be more responsive.

Content (Website Content)

Writing specifically for web pages involves incorporating target keywords that tell the search engines what a specific web page is about. Effective content achieves two goals. The first goal is that it creates persuasive, informative content for the website visitor. the second goal is that it maintains an optimum keyword count for the search engines to index.

Content Network

Content-driven ads displayed on non-Google sites through Google Ad Sense affiliate network.

Contextual Advertising

Displaying ads that match the nearby text on a web page. Foe example, if a user is viewing a website about downloading music, the ads displayed might be for a music program like iTunes or Limewire.

Conversion

A website visitor completing a desired action. Types of conversion include signing up for a newsletter, buying a product or service, registering to receive more information, joining an email list, and other transactions.

Conversion Rate (1)

A measure of the number of visitors who follow a call to action on a website. Calls to action include purchasing goods or services, subscribing to a newsletter or email list, contacting the website provider, entering personal information, etc.

Conversion Rate (2)

The number of sales divided by the number of potential sales. you have 100 leads and you make 1 sale = 1/100 = conversion rate of 1%.

Cost per Acquisition (CPA)